Skip to content

Quiltmaking during treatments at UConn Health Center

September 16, 2011

What do you do if you’re a quiltmaker and you’re diagnosed with cancer? Why make quilts of course.

“I find quilting to be relaxing and very peaceful,” says Ed Johnetta Miller, a cancer survivor, quilt artist and a patient facilitator for a new support group. “I go off into my own world. I am creating, and that is very exciting for me. It gets my mind going in a completely different direction and I’m not dwelling on my illness.”

Kits will be offered to patients during their chemo sessions. Volunteers will help non-stitchers create blocks. The results will become artwork for the UConn Health Center.

Click on the quilt to read the full story.

One in Every Bunch

"One in Every Bunch" quilt by Ed Johnetta Miller. (Photo provided by Ed Johnetta Miller)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

