Skip to content

James Stitching Sisters

January 18, 2013

The James Stitching Sisters, a volunteer group affiliated with James Cancer Hospital & Solove Research Institute, The Ohio State University have been a designated group since 2004. By 2005, with the goal of providing quilts to breast cancer survivors receiving chemotherapy, 275 completed quilts were amassed. Distribution started in June 2005, and since then, we have had enough quilts to provide, thanks to our wonderful volunteers. To date, we have distributed over 6,300 quilts that are all machine quilted, at least 48×60 inches, and delivered with a message for emotional and physical warmth. The program has expanded to include all newly-diagnosed breast cancer patients (and, re-diagnosed with metastatic disease), lung cancer survivors, pediatrics patients receiving radiation therapy at The James, cancer patients at a satellite site, a diversity enhancement project, and women with gynecologic cancers that are receiving chemotherapy.

Our 9th Annual Quilt Day is planned for April 6, 2013, an event that attracts over 200 participants yearly. This is our annual event to thank our current volunteers, a day full of fun, laughter, fellowship, prizes, and lots of sewing/quilting! It will be held at the Bethel United Methodist Church on Bethel Road, Columbus, OH from 9-5. We welcome new volunteers and anyone who is willing to provide some hours to us, to either sew/quilt, or help with ironing, food, registration, etc.

We are fortunate to have donated office space from Nationwide Realty which enables us to have a gathering place, dubbed the ‘Sewing Center’. There we house our fabric, supplies, batting, quilts,etc. with a regular schedule of work days. We have two Nolting long-arm quilting machines which enable us to fulfill our initial pledge to machine quilt every quilt. In addition, many volunteers provide loving stitches from their mid-arm machines at home.

We are supported by generous monetary donations, fabric donations, and grants, such as the William Davis & Family Foundation.

Visit our website at http://www.stitchingsisters.org

Joanne Lester, Project Coordinator
James Stitching Sisters
Columbus, OH
614-519-8995
jamesstitchingsisters@yahoo.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Ann Hudson permalink
    March 26, 2013 7:17 pm

    How does one sign up to receive a cancer quilt. I am getting chemo at the gynecology oncology site on ridge mill pkwy in hilliard

  2. May 14, 2015 2:34 pm

    I want to thank you for making me smile. Yesterday I started the last of my 4 Chemo treatments. The nurse asked if I had my quilt, and I had no idea what she was talking about. Then she told me that I should have gotten one when I first started Chemo months ago. Well she wheeled out a cart of bags with quilts in them. As she came up to me I noticed a BEAUTIFUL purple and green quilt right on top. It made me smile, purple and green being two of my Favorite colors. I didn’t even have to look for one I liked, It was the one. I pulled it out and saw a card inside, I opened it up and it was a wonderful card wishing me the best and hoping that they made me smile and happy with the quilt. YOU DID! Not only did I get a beautiful purple and green quilt, but the card was also in the color for cervical cancer. It made me feel like that bag was meant for me. I just wanted to say thank you so much for making a long and sometimes painful experience more tolerable with a smile and warmth. You ALL are amazing!!!!

  3. Wanda mattiello permalink
    March 21, 2016 1:59 pm

    Thankyou, Joanne Lester, for the most gracious letter concerning my fabric donation. It is so nice to know that the material will be put to good use making people feel loved and feel happiness while going through their ordeals. I have more fabric and will send it back down to Ohio when my daughter comes up to Michigan this year.
    Sincerely, Wanda

Leave a Reply

